Policy Governance by KICA Members

At the foundation of the association are the community members who volunteer their time to serve this community on the board, committees and task forces.

The board is made up of eight community member directors (serving three-year terms) and one director appointed by the developer, Kiawah Partners. Each winter, KICA conducts an annual election to fill any open seats, and the newly elected directors begin their term at the KICA annual meeting, typically in March.

2021 - 2022

KICA Board of Directors

Dave Morley Image

Dave Morley


Contact   |   About
Jerry McGee Image

Jerry McGee


Contact   |   About
Alex Fernandez Image

Alex Fernandez


Contact   |   About
Sandy Devine Image

Sandy Devine


Contact   |   About
Amanda Mole Image

Amanda Mole

Developer Director

Contact   |  
David DeStefano Image

David DeStefano


Contact   |   About
Beth Zampino Image

Beth Zampino


Contact   |   About
Brad McIlvain Image

Brad McIlvain


Contact   |   About
Gaye Stathis Image

Gaye Stathis


Contact   |   About

Your Island Representatives

Board of Directors

KICA's Board of Directors is the governing body of the association and represents the interests of all community members. The board meets every other month (view meetings calendar) to discuss important community topics and initiatives. Community members are invited to attend and are asked for input at the beginning and end of each meeting. Members are also welcome to contact all board members at any time by email.

Serve on the Board

The board is made of eight community member directors. Each winter, the association conducts an election to fill any open director seats. The elected directors serve for three years and begin their term at the KICA annual meeting, typically in March. Applications to serve open in the fall of each year, and all association members are invited to run for election.

Board Meeting Minutes & Notes

Committees and Task Forces

Community Voices on Island Topics

KICA has numerous committees and task forces comprised typically of community members, board members and staff. Committees offer ongoing advisement to the board in specific areas, like finance. Task Forces are created to execute a specific task or project and are initiated as needed.


Finance Committee

View the Finance Committee Charter.

The Finance Committee advises the board of directors in matters of finance, audit and accounting in order to further KICA's mission of protecting, preserving and enhancing the association’s assets and services. The Finance Committee meets as needed and all meetings are open for community members to attend.

2021 - 2022 Finance Committee Members:
Alex Fernandez (Board Treasurer/Committee Chair), Jim DiLella, Paul Hennessy, Jerry Honea, Paul Hough, Lisa Mascolo, Bran Petranovic, Jeff Porter, Dave Morley (Board Chair, ex officio member)

Serve on the Finance Committee
Community members are invited to serve on the Finance Committee for a three-year term beginning in March. Part-time and full-time property owners are encouraged to participate, from all segments of Kiawah membership.

Human Resource Committee

View the Human Resource Committee Charter

The Human Resource (HR) Committee is a standing advisory committee to the KICA board, established to confirm the reasonableness of KICA leadership's total compensation and to ensure that effective policies are in place to enable KICA to retain, attract and reward its leadership.

2021-2022 Committee Members: 
Beth Zampino (chair), Dave Morley, Richard Ames, Bert Hefke

Serve on the Human Resource Committee
The HR Committee is comprised of four community members, including the board chair. The committee members serve three-year volunteer terms, beginning on Feb. 15. The committee meets several times per year.

Board Outreach and Education Committee

View the Board Outreach and Education Committee Charter.

The Board Outreach and Education Committee (BOEC) encourages members to serve on the KICA board. The committee hosts Board Service Info Sessions and helps to guide board candidates through the election process. This committee was restructured in 2020 and no longer vets candidates or makes candidate recommendations to members.

2021 - 2022 Board Outreach and Education Committee Members:
Brad McIlvain (Board/Co-Chair), Gaye Stathis (Board/Co-Chair), Kelly Bragg, Cynthia Riesenberg, Paul Nelson and Frances Boyd

Serve on the Board Outreach and Education Committee
The BOEC is comprised of five community members, including one designated board member. The four community members serve two-year volunteer terms. The committee meets as needed, and is most active in the late summer and fall.

Adaptive Management Plan Task Force

The AMP Task Force was created in 2020 to gather feedback from community members to inform the development of a plan that will allow Kiawah to adapt to changing environmental coniditons that may result in flooding. The task force surveyed the membership in October about their concerns with potential flooding scenarios and about 1,900 members participated. The task force will compile a report of their findings to share with the KICA board, town council and other island leadership.

Community Outreach Task Force

The Community Outreach Task Force was created in 2020 to provide members with a new platform to share ideas and concerns with the KICA board. The task force hosted five virtual community meetings to hear directly from members. Feedback collected from the meetings will be shared with the membership and board, and will be developed into a 2021 member survey.

Other Recent Task Forces

The Flood Mitigation Task Force and the Technology Task Force completed their work in 2020. The Flood Mitigation Task Force was responsible for the developement of a comprehensive plan to address Kiawah's known flooding susceptibilities. The plan resulted in the recommendation of six infrastructure improvement projects, which the community voted to approve in May of 2020. A five-year special assessment was established to fund the flood mitigation projects. The Technology Task Force was responsible for overseeing the initial implementation of the Salesforce technology platform. The task force facilitated a smooth implementation and concluded their work in September 2020.

Committee Meeting Minutes